Organisation and Governance

Legal framework

EuroMarine uses a mixed legal model:

  • The network is governed by EuroMarine Consortium Agreement (dated 1 June 2014), which 66 founding organisations signed in 2014. From 2015 onwards, new member organisations join the network by signing a Consortium Accession Document.
  • Subordinated to the Consortium, a not-for-profit legal entity (created in 2018, made operational in 2019) provides the network with both an efficient and flexible management structure and a legal personality. The EuroMarine Coordinator was in charge of EuroMarine budget and daily management until the association took over in 2019.

Coordination and hosting

EuroMarine is jointly coordinated and hosted in France by Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) and Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (IRD). IRD is EuroMarine Coordinator (in the specific meaning of this term defined in the Consortium Agreement: IRD is in charge of establishing and hosting the legal entity, and of managing the budget in the absence of the latter).

The above results from:

  • calls for expression of interest and for bids to launch, host and coordinate EuroMarine, which the EuroMarine preparatory European FP7 project launched (from Jul. to Oct. 2013);
  • the recommendation of the preparatory project Advisory Board (made on 27 Oct. 2013, based on existing bids);
  • the consultation (open from 12 to 22 Nov. 2013) of all signatories of the Memorandum of Understanding for the launch of the EuroMarine Network;
  • the selection of CNRS-IRD joint bid (on 28 Nov. 2013);
  • the ratification of this decision made during EuroMarine first General Assembly meeting (hosted by SZN, Naples, 24-25 Feb. 2015).

According to the terms of the joint CNRS-IRD bid:

  • The Scientific Coordination is jointly entrusted to Catherine Boyen (CNRS) and Philippe Cury (IRD), who are thus Co-Chairs of the Consortium.
  • The Headquarters of the EuroMarine Legal Entity are to be hosted by IRD at Centre de Recherche Halieutique, Sète France.
  • The EuroMarine Secretariat is hosted primarily by IRD at Centre de Recherche Halieutique, and secondarily by CNRS at Station Biologique de Roscoff, France.
  • The Executive Direction of EuroMarine is entrusted to Pierre-François Baisnée (IRD).

Governance and organisational structure

The below organigramme summarises EuroMarine organisation and governance (as of Nov. 2018).

EuroMarine Organisational Chart (as of Nov. 2018).

General Assembly

The General Assembly (GA) is EuroMarine main governing (and ultimate decision-making) body. It is composed of the representatives of all member organisations, of which only 'Full' (paying) members can vote. It meets at the beginning of each civil year to discuss EuroMarine strategy and action plan, and to make decisions (notably concerning EuroMarine membership, budget and yearly call for proposals).

picture of Naples, 2015 GA meetingEuroMarine first General Assembly meeting - Stazione Zoologica Anton Dohrn di Napoli (SZN), Naples, Italy, 24-25 February 2015.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (SC) is a subset of the General Assembly. It has both steering and executive missions. Notably: it prepares meetings and proposes decisions regarding EuroMarine strategic programme; it can be mandated by the GA to make or implement decisions; it adopts and revise the procedure used to select successful proposals submitted to EuroMarine yearly calls.

Current Members appointed by the General Assembly (as of Jul. 2018)
1 - BATHMANN Ulrich (Germany - IOW)
2 - BERDALET Elisa (Spain - CSIC)
3 - DE PASCALE Donatella (Italy - CNR)
4 - GARCIA SOTO Carlos (Spain - IEO)
5 - IANORA Adrianna (Italy - SZN)
6 - MARIANI Patrizio, SC Chair (Denmark - DTU Aqua)
7 - MURPHY David (Ireland - AquaTT)
8 - PADE Nicolas (UK - MBA)
9 - PESANT Stéphane (Germany - UniHB)
10 - PIWOWARCZYK Joanna (Poland - IO-PAN)
11 - RAMŠAK Andreja (Slovenia - NIL)
12 - SANTOS Rui (Portugal - CCMAR)
13 - SOLIDORO Cosimo (Italy - OGS)
14 - SOUSA PINTO Isabel (Portugal - CIIMAR)
15 - VANREUSEL Ann (Belgium - UGent)
17 - ZAVATARELLI Marco (Italy - CoNISMa)

Ex officio members (EuroMarine Chairs)
17 - BOYEN Catherine (France - CNRS)
18 - CURY Philippe (France - IRD) 

Former members
DUPONT Sam (Sweden - UGOT)
HAWKINS Steve (UK - Soton-NOCS)
OLSEN Jeanine (Netherlands - RUG-GELIFES)
PIRAINO Stefano (Italy - CoNISMa)
TREGUER Paul (France - CNRS)

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is an optional body, whose creation has been postponed.


The (distributed) Secretariat supports all Consortium Bodies as well as the Board of the Legal Entity.

Consortium Chair(s)

The Consortium (co-)Chair(s) chair the General Assembly and act as EuroMarine scientific (co-)coordinator(s) and as its spokesperson(s).


EuroMarine is (at least initially, entirely) self-sustained by membership fees. The minimum fee is set at 2,500 €; higher contribution are made on a voluntary basis only; the highest contribution amounts to 40,000€.

As EuroMarine develops, external public or private resources will be sought through the EuroMarine Association.