EuroMarine 2016 Call for Candidates for Steering Committee positionsInternal

Call Overview

Call Category: Other
Managing Body: EuroMarine, EuroMarine General Assembly
Preannouncement: December 2, 2015
Opening: December 2, 2015
Closing: January 6, 2016
Outcome: January 29, 2016

EuroMarine opens on 2 Dec. 2015 a call for candidates to join its Steering Committee (to be partially renewed every year from 2016 on, as decided by the GA during its 2015 meeting).

Three positions are open in 2016.

Please note:

  • The SC is in principle composed of GA representatives (from Full Member organisations) but the EuroMarine Consortium Agreement allows for exceptions.
  • The SC would welcome applications from candidates whose election could broaden the areas of expertise or regions 'represented' in the SC, or would improve multiple balances.
  • The SC would welcome an early career scientist among its members (to be nominated by the corresponding GA representative) in order to broaden the SC perspective.

Please refer to the attached call text for details.

Candidates are invited to fill in and return the attached 2016 SC candidate form to secretariatateuromarinenetwork [dot] eu by 6 January 2016.

The General Assembly will vote for candidates during its 28-29 Jan. 2016 meeting in Olhão. While their term officially starts in July 2016, the three new SC members will be invited to attend the SC meeting that will be held on 29 Jan. afternoon after the GA meeting.

Two early career scientists were nominated by General Assembly (GA) representatives and submitted their application (visible below to authenticated EuroMarine members) by the deadline.

None of the current GA representatives stood as Steering Committee (SC) candidate.

General Assembly representatives were invited to vote (either remotely, or at the 28-29 Jan. 2016 GA meeting venue) and elected the two candidates:

The resulting SC composition is described in this piece of news.

Update Feed

March 16, 2016 - News - Update or Reminder - Changes in EuroMarine Steering Committee