Outcome of elections for the EuroMarine Working Group on Marine Research Infrastructures Internal


Posted on behalf of the EMGRI organisers

We are pleased to announce the outcome of the election for representatives to the EuroMarine Working Group for Marine Research Infrastructure (EMGRI).

The call for candidates saw 13 individuals put forward for the four core communities (biodiversity, marine biology & ecology, oceanography, and fisheries and aquaculture).

For the election process, 21 EuroMarine members voted for their candidates of choice. It was a very tight race with two of the candidates being decided by single votes. The vote count was done by three different people and triple checked.

The successful candidates are as follows:

  • Biodiversity (4 candidates) Stefano Piraino (CoNISMa; Italy; elected with 9/21 votes)
  • Marine Biology and Ecology (5 candidates)Cèlia Marrasé (CSIC, Spain; elected with 7/21 votes)
  • Oceanography (3 candidates)Anna Sanchez-Vidal (U. Barcelona, Spain; elected with 15/21 votes)
  • Fisheries and Aquaculture (1 candidate)Elisabete Maciel (U. Aveiro, Portugal; elected with 21/21 votes)

The candidates have been informed of the outcome on 9 March and we are proceeding to find a date for the first EMGRI meeting. General Assembly representatives wishing to consult detailed results (which will be included in the 2018 EuroMarine activity report) can contact the EMGRI organisers.

We will continue to keep you updated on EMGRI progress through the EuroMarine website and newsletter.

We would like to once again thank all the candidates for their participation in the election and for their willingness to engage and represent their communities. We would also like to thank all the members who sent in their vote, making this whole process possible.

We look forward to getting on with setting up the working group and making it a success.

Nicolas Pade, Dominique Durand, Paul Lonsdale